Member of the Jewish Federations of North America

Greater Miami Jewish Federation

Federation News

Federation to Honor and Elect Community Leaders at 79th Annual Meeting

New community leadership – Greater Miami Jewish Federation Officers, Board of Directors, Trustees and Leadership Council members – will be elected and installed, and accomplishments of the past year will be celebrated at at Federation’s 79th Annual Meeting on Wednesday, June 7 at Jungle Island, 1111 Parrot Jungle Trail, Miami.

The event is being chaired by Ellen Rose and Elise Udelson, and features a kosher buffet luncheon that begins at 11:30 a.m. A highlight of the program will be the presentation of prestigious awards to five outstanding leaders who have demonstrated extraordinary commitment to Federation’s Mission and the Jewish community. The awards and honorees are:

The 2017 Stanley C. Myers Presidents’ Leadership Award

This award, named for Federation’s late Founding President, is presented annually to two dynamic Jewish leaders who have demonstrated outstanding service to Miami’s Jewish community. Myers was an exceptional leader who served the Jewish community of Miami for decades and helped set the standard for Jewish philanthropy in South Florida. The 2017 honorees are Adam Lustig and Elizabeth Schwartz.

The 2017 Robert Russell Fellowship Award

Named in remembrance of the late Robert Russell, this award is presented to a member of the community who has shown active interest in the Federation, and in particular, Jewish communities overseas. Bob Russell was an extraordinary leader who served as President of Federation, as a National Chairman of the United Jewish Communities (UJA), and Chairman of The Jewish Agency for Israel’s Housing Committee. The 2017 honoree is Ilene Kossman.

The 2017 Sandra C. Goldstein Young Leadership Award

This award was created in 2006 by the late Miriam and Sam Goldstein in memory of their daughter, Sandra C. Goldstein, a wonderful young leader in Miami’s Jewish community who received the Stanley C. Myers Presidents’ Leadership Award in her lifetime. It is presented annually to two individuals for leadership and service to Miami’s Jewish community. The recipients of the 2017 Sandra C. Goldstein Young Leadership Award are Larry Bassuk and Alexandra Lehson.

To learn more about the honorees, click here.

Couvert for the event is $65 per person (not tax-deductible as a charitable contribution). There will be no solicitation of funds.

To register, click here.

For more information about Federation’s 79th Annual Meeting, contact Mimi Klimberg at or 786.866.8410.

The Mission of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation is to mobilize human and financial resources to care for those in need, strengthen
Jewish life and advance the unity, values and shared purpose of the Jewish people in Miami, in Israel and around the world.

Click here to read our Diversity and Inclusion Statement.

Terms of Service | Privacy Policy | Donor Privacy Policy | Community Guidelines

Copyright © 2018 Greater Miami Jewish Federation

Stanley C. Myers Building · 4200 Biscayne Boulevard · Miami, FL 33137 · 305-576-4000

Powered by ARCOS | Design by Plus Three